The Cross of Santiago Blog Tour

Release date: September 16th 2013

Self-Published

Purchase: Amazon

ABOUT THE AUTHOR*

Evie Gaughan is an Irish author based in Galway City, where she finds much of her inspiration. Influenced by writers such as Maeve Binchy and Diana Gabaldon, Evie has crafted her own unique writing style that is warm, engaging and full of humour. She has published several short stories, poems and feature articles and works as a freelance writer.
When not writing, Evie likes to paint and has many works exhibiting in local galleries and on-line. A self-confessed crafter, her Galway home is full of hand-made designs. Evie is currently working on her second novel.

INTERVIEW*
Today Dreamers I have a treat for you, I am interviewing Evie Gaughan the author of

The-Cross-of-Santiago

Hi Jacquelyn, It’s a pleasure to be featured on your blog!

Q. When did you first know that you want to be a writer?

A. Even as a child, I always enjoyed telling stories. At school, my favourite subject was English and I loved nothing more than having an essay to write for homework (the same cannot be said for maths!). However, I never really had the courage to consider becoming an author until a few years ago. I realised that I was unhappy in my work and I had this story in my head that I really wanted to write, so I decided to give it a try – and I haven’t looked back since!

Q. What is your inspiration for this book?

A.I am greatly inspired by my surroundings and the wealth of history we have in Ireland. I wanted to write about a time in our history when we at the centre of one of the greatest wars of the middle ages, The Spanish Armada. As soon as I found out that there was an Armada shipwreck in Galway (where I’m from) I knew I had to write this book! However, I am also a huge fan of time-slip novels, so I wanted to write a book that incorporated modern and medieval times, with a parallel love story. The inspiration for this was a book I read about past life regression and the story took off from there.

Q. Where do you write?

A.I have a home office where I usually do most of my writing, but sometimes, especially when it’s cold, I’ll put down a fire in the living room and tap away on my laptop in the comfort of my armchair!

Q. Designed you book cover?

A .Tugboat Designs helped me to design my cover. I had a very specific look in mind and I wanted the reader to be able to glean something of the genre and the story just by looking at the cover. There was a lot of back and forth on the design, to get it exactly right, and I’m delighted with the results.

Q. Who is your favorite author?

A I don’t think I could pick a favorite, because I am always looking for the next great book, but I am a big fan of Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I love his gothic style.

Q. . What is next for you a movies or another book?

A. Well I just completed National Novel Writing Month, so I have the first draft of my second novel. It’s set in France and it is a story about a woman looking for a bit of adventure in her life. There are some historical elements in there, as well as some paranormal twists!

Q. Is this your full time job?

A.Not yet (although it does feel like it!) but I would hope that it will be someday, because I just love doing it.

Q. What would you do if you could not write?

A. I suppose I would have to be like one of the old Irish storytellers that we call a seanachai, and just tell my stories verbally.

Q. What do you have any hobbies?

A. When I’m not writing, I love to paint. I began sketching and drawing about 10 years ago, and now I paint landscapes in acrylics. Some of my paintings are on exhibit in a local gallery. I also enjoy all types of crafts.

BOOK DESCRIPTION:
“One cross will bind two couples across four centuries.”

An ancient love story, locked in the heart of a sunken Armada ship, is destined to find its happy ending… even if it takes four hundred years.
Amanda Morrison does not believe in love or destiny, but when a long-lost aunt leaves her a mysterious golden cross in her will, her uneventful life in Galway City is turned upside down. The arrival of Xavier, a charismatic yachtsman in search of treasure and adventure, complicates life further, as their paths seem destined to cross. While Amanda tries to uncover the truth about her family’s past, a strange series of events ensues, involving drama on the high seas, hypnosis, scary sheep, Armada treasure and five-a-side football championships. Though, not all in that order. An intriguing tale of love, redemption and the power of a soul’s promise.

LINKS*
eviegaughan.wordpress.com | twitter.com/evgaughan

Rafflecopter Giveaway Code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Direct link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/NjQyNjI5MjVkYTkyNTY3NjE4OGIzNjQ2NGE5MWE2OjE0NA==/

20131209-000556.jpg

Leave a Reply

