An interview with the author of Lingering Echoes

This is a special event dreamers, we are honoring amazing women and today we are interviewing the author of Lingering Echoes, Ms Erica Kiefer

ABOUT MS Kiefer

Erica Kiefer was born on Christmas Eve in Southern California to an American father whose ancestors arrived from Europe during colonial times and a Thai mother who moved to the US during high school. Adding to her rich and varied heritage, Erica grew up living abroad in Asia, including Taiwan, Fiji, Thailand and Indonesia. She gained a great respect for the beautiful mosaic of cultures found in various parts of the world. After graduating from International School Bangkok, she attended Brigham Young University in Utah, where she earned a degree in Recreation Therapy. Her career as a Recreation Therapist has allowed her to work with at-risk youth since 2007

First, I am excited to be doing this interview ***

Q. When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?
A. As a young child, I loved writing, whether in my journals, or scripting silly plays to act out with my siblings, or writing stories for school. The desire started in second grade, probably around the time I “published” my first story for an assignment. It was about unicorns, and I was so proud to see my pages spiral bound with a laminated cover and to even include an author page with my picture!

Q. What is your inspiration for this book?
A One day while I was in a college class—humanities 101, I believe—the topic lost my interest. Instead, my walk through BYU campus, with the chilly fall weather and wind blowing crisp leaves around my feet, inspired a scenario in my head. It was about a girl walking through a forest and coming upon a river that brought back painful memories for her. I wrote about this girl grieving a loss, while wind blew around her and brushed leaves into the water. I didn’t know it at the time, but this scene would become the basis for chapter two of Lingering Echoes, and describe the prominent theme of grief, loss and healing. Some of the minor plot lines or character development came from my own life experiences and thoughts as a children

Q. Where do you write?
A. With an energetic 2.5-year-old daughter and a mobile 10-month-old baby boy, all my writing takes place at home during nap time. Once both kids are in bed for the afternoon, I jump onto my computer in my room and squeeze in what I can for the next two hours.

Q. Who Designed you book cover?
A. Marya Heiman is the graphic designer for Clean Teen Publishing. She is also the owner and founder of Strong Image Editing. You can find her beautiful work at https://www.facebook.com/StrongImageEditin

Q. Who is your favorite author ?
A. I tend to follow the trends. Right now, Veronica Roth of the Divergent Series and Suzanne Collins of Hunger Games series are at the top of my list.

Q. What is next for you a movies or another book ?
A. I just released Rumors, which is a novella to Lingering Echoes and acts as a prequel to my novel. I also have a non-fiction piece releasing in the next couple months called Borrowed Angel, which is about the grief and healing process I experienced when my first born died from Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). My hands have been a little full, so I am still considering what I will do next as far as another book goes. There have been inquires about a sequel to Lingering Echoes, so I have been playing around with that idea, although part of me wants to start fresh with something new. Hopefully, readers will keep in touch with me through Facebook and my website to find out what’s next!

Q. Is this your full time job?
A. The job most important to me and definitely full time is taking care of my two kids at home. Writing is a part time job and hobby as time permits! I have a lot of irons in the fire with working with kids from my church and volunteering at a grief center, though becoming a recent author is the first job I’ll be paid for in a couple years!

Q. What would you do if you could not write?
If I could go back and choose one skill to develop, I think I would have loved to work with horses. I have very little riding experience, but in another life, that would have been fun to explore that option.

Q. What do you have any hobbies?
A. The one hobby I put aside for now is playing rugby. I played collegiate rugby for Brigham Young University and that was one of the best experiences of my life! I’ve jumped in with teams from time to time, but now that I’ve had kids and am involved in other avenues, I’ve had to put it aside for now. I still love to exercise, especially with friends, and harmonize in singing groups.

Thank you so much for taking time to do this interview and being an amazing woman

20140114-151932.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erica Kiefer says:

    The interview does show up better here. Beautiful background, too! thank you!

    Like

  2. Love this one too…

    Like

Leave a Reply

