The Dark Fairy Series

20140517-222118.jpg

Except:

The attic door slightly creaked when I opened it. The attic was just as it was in my dream and I knew there on the far side was the sheet covering the mirror. I took a breath and began my walk to the mirror. I smelt the gardenias as a cold chill hit my feet and ran up my body. My heart beat quickened with each step this was crazy. I had to pinch myself again to make sure this was real. I looked down this floor board should squeak. I placed my foot down and sure enough it did. The sound made chill bumps run up my arms and down my spine. I took two more slow steps and made it in front of the mirror. I knelt down in front just as I did in my dream. I pulled the sheet off to see the antique frame and the words in some foreign langue. I reached my hand out to touch the words when a hand tapped my shoulder. I almost jumped out of my own skin.
“What are you doing up here.” Audrey asked looking around.
“Everyone is looking for you, they even called your mom.” She was talking but I didn’t listen something or someone wanted me here and I needed to figure it out.
“Hello are you even listening to me?” Audrey shouted waving her hand in front of my face. “Audrey look.” I pointed at the mirror. She shrugged her shoulders as if to say, and.
“Have you been listening to anything I’ve been telling you? This is the mirror in my dreams, this is it.” I smiled at her knowingly and shaking my head like here is the proof I’m not crazy.

As we walked out I saw Duke and the group of girls walking the street. He looked as though he wanted to get away but couldn’t be rude. I smiled over at him and he smiled back. No wink or anything showing off just a beautiful smile. I couldn’t help but stare at those perfect lips. That’s when my nose felt the hard surface of Audrey’s back. I had been paying so much attention to Duke I ran smack in the back of her. Audrey had stopped for a car to go by. I fell back and landed on my butt in the middle of the street in front of everyone. I felt the heat flushing my cheeks as I knew Duke saw. Audrey turned around and started laughing while attempting to help me up. What are friends for if they can’t laugh at you while you’re down? Audrey and Lauren both started to giggle while Mrs. Asher didn’t think it was so funny.
“Are you all right.” A smooth deep voice asked. I looked up between the cracks of my fingers and to my horror Duke was standing over me with his hand out.

“When you sleep it’s like you’re dead. Your body is limp, cold and you don’t feel a thing. Believe me I cried I don’t know how many times when you were a baby thinking you
died but every time you came back to me. That’s when I had to remember what the old woman had told me about you and your dream walking. You’ve been doing it since you were a baby.

Leave a Reply

